## **Scottish Text Society**

# Annual General Meeting 12 April 2019

### 1 pm

#### **Minutes**

**Present:** Nicola Royan, Janet Hadley Williams, Alasdair MacDonald, Emily Wingfield, Elizabeth Elliot, Marjory Williamson, John Archer, Jeremy Smith, Helen Vincent, Rhiannon Purdie

**Apologies for absence:** Sarah Carpenter, Tony Edwards, Jonathan Glenn, James Goldstein, Joanna Martin, Pamela King, Tim Machan, Sally Mapstone, Sebastiaan Verweij

- 1. **Welcome:** The President welcomed everyone to the meeting.
- 2. **Minutes of the meeting on 12 April 2019**: These were agreed as an accurate record of the meeting.
- 3. **President's Report:** The President reported that the Society had published *Rauf Coilyear* ed. R Hanna, but that it remained behind on its publications. The main focus was the completion and publication of Gavin Douglas's *Eneados*, revised by P Bawcutt: although it was hoped to submit this publication at the end of 2019, there was still a significant amount to be done to make it ready for print. However, when complete, it would be a very important edition.

She further reported that the decline in members, both individual and institutional, continued to be a concern. Council were considering ways and means to manage membership and publications, and to publicise the work of the Society, and this would remain a priority for the year ahead.

In addition she reported on the delivery of the McIntosh lecture by Professor Penny Fielding (University of Edinburgh) and plans for the Society to contribute to academic conferences and National Library of Scotland events.

- 4. **Annual Report and Accounts for 2018:** These were accepted as accurate.
- 5. **Risk Assessment**: This was accepted as a reasonable assessment of the risks faced by the Society. Particular attention was paid to the financial risks and to those posed by Open Access.
- 6. Council Membership
  Re-election for three years

Dr Elizabeth Elliott Dr Janet Hadley Williams Professor Alasdair MacDonald Professor Jeremy Smith Dr Emily Wingfield

### Nominations for new member vice Professor Luuk Houwen

Dr Kees Dekker (Rijks Universiteit Groningen) was nominated; the nomination has been welcomed by Council, and accepted by the AGM. However, following discussion at the earlier Council meeting, the President reported that Council had decided that the nomination process needed clarification, and this would occur at the next Council meeting in September 2019.

- 8. Date and venue of next meeting: Edinburgh, April 2020.
- 9. **Any other competent business:** There was no further business.