Scottish Text Society

Annual General Meeting

Minutes

Wednesday 27 March 2013

The STS Annual General Meeting was held in the Quaker Meeting Rooms, Victoria Terrace, Edinburgh. Present at the meeting were Nicola Royan (President), Graham Caie, Rhiannon Purdie, Theo van Heijnsbergen, Sebastiaan Verweij, Ian Cunningham, John Archer and Colin Grant.

Apologies were received from Marjory Williamson, Tony Edwards, Sally Mapstone, Alasdair MacDonald, Hector MacQueen, Jonathan Glenn. James Goldstein, Janet Hadley Williams, Brian Hillyard, Luuk Houwen, Joanna Martin, David Parkinson, Jeremy Smith.

1. Welcome and apologies for absence

The President welcomed members to the meeting.

- 2. **Minutes of the meeting on 4 April 2012.** These were approved by the meeting.
- 3. **President's Report.** The president reported on a successful year for the Society, during which it had published two volumes, *The Older Scots Reader*, by Jeremy Smith (the first paperback publication by the Society) and Archibald Pitcairne's *The Phanaticks* edited by John MacQueen. She remarked that these volumes displayed the breadth of the Society's interests, from philology to late seventeenth century drama. She further reported that the next volume, *Selected Shorter Scottish Romances*, ed. Rhiannon Purdie, was close to publication.

She remarked that while the Society continued to be committed to paper publishing, it was also alert to other opportunities, including digital publication.

- 4. **Annual Report and the Accounts for 2012.** These documents were received and approved by the meeting. It was noted that subscriptions, particularly institutional subscriptions, were vulnerable to cancellation, and that Mr Archer had undertaken an excellent job in pursuing subscriptions. It was also noted that the return on the Society's investments was suffering in the current economic climate. Council had already approved an increase in subscription, in line with other learned societies, but it was also noted that the Society needed to pay attention to the amount in its reserves and not over-commit itself.
- **6. Risk Assessment.** The Risk Assessment document was received by the meeting.
- 7. **Re-election of Members of Council, for three years.** The following members of Council were re-elected: Professor Graham Caie; Dr Nicola Royan; Dr Janet Hadley Williams; Dr Theo van Heijnsbergen; Professor Jeremy Smith. The following retired: Mr Ian Cunningham; Dr Brian Hillyard.

8. Nominations for Membership of Council

Dr Helen Vincent (National Library of Scotland) and Dr Sarah Carpenter (University of Edinburgh) were suggested.

9. Date and venue of next meeting. It was agreed that the next meeting would be in April 2014.
There was no other competent business and the meeting closed at 4.30.