# The Scottish Text Society Annual General Meeting

#### The Board Room, National Library of Scotland, Edinburgh

#### 22 March 2010, 4 pm

#### Minutes

**Present:** Mr Ian Cunningham, Professor Graham Caie, Dr Brian Hillyard, Dr Sally Mapstone (President), Dr Joanna Martin (Minutes Secretary), Professor John McGavin, Dr Rhiannon Purdie, Dr Nicola Royan (Editorial Secretary), Professor Jeremy Smith, Mr. Theo van Heijnsbergen, Dr Elizabeth Elliot, Mr Colin Grant.

# 1. Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Professor Priscilla Bawcutt, Professor Tony Edwards, Professor Luuk Houwen, Dr Janet Hadley Williams, Professor Jonathan Glenn, Professor James Goldstein, Professor A.A. MacDonald, Professor Hector MacQueen, Dr Sebastiaan Verweij.

# 2. Minutes of the meeting on 27 March 2009

These were accepted as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

#### 3. President's Report

The president welcomed Dr Elizabeth Elliot and Mr Colin Grant to the AGM The president reported that the next STS volume to be published would be *The Ballad Repertoire of Anna Gordon, Mrs Brown of Falkland*, ed. Sigrid Rieuwerts. This would appear in the autumn of 2010.

The president reminded the AGM of the second McIntosh lecture which was to be given on Monday 22 March 2010 by Caroline Macafee at 5.15 pm in the David Hume Tower, George Square.

The President reported that the meeting of the STS Council on 22 March 2010 had learned that the Society is in good financial health and had gained new individual members over the last year.

The President wished to add one item to the agenda to allow the re-election of Council members (see item 5 below).

# 4. Annual Report and Accounts for 2009

These were received. The President reminded the AGM that these would soon be available via the STS website. [ACTION JM/NR/LH]

# 5. Re-election of members of council

It was agreed that the following officers be re-elected to Council for a further three years of service: Dr Janet Hadley Williams (ordinary member), Professor Hector MacQueen (vice president), Dr Nicola Royan (Editorial Secretary), Professor Jeremy Smith (ordinary member), Mr Theo van Heijnsbergen (ordinary member).

# **5.** Any other competent business There was no other business.

# 6. Date of next meeting: to be agreed. [ACTION SLM/NR/JM]