#### The Scottish Text Society Annual General Meeting

# The Conference Room, 27 George Square, Edinburgh

# 30 March 2007, 4 pm

#### Minutes

**Present**: Dr Sally Mapstone (President), Mr Ian Cunningham (Honorary Treasurer), Dr Nicola Royan (Editorial Secretary), Professor Priscilla Bawcutt (Vice-President), Mr Theo van Heijnsbergen, Dr Brian Hillyard, Mr Bill Aitken (Membership Secretary), Mrs Marjory Williamson (Independent Examiner), Dr Margaret Mackay

**Apologies for absence:** Professor Graham Caie, Professor Tony Edwards. Professor Willie Gillies, Professor Jonathan Glenn, Professor James Goldstein, Dr Janet Hadley Williams, Professor Luuk Houwen, Professor Alasdair MacDonald, Dr John McGavin, Professor Hector MacQueen, Professor Jeremy Smith

#### 1. Minutes of the meeting on 31 March 2006

The minutes of the previous AGM were accepted.

# 2. President's Report

The President reported two significant items: the first Angus McIntosh Lecture would be given on 7 January 2008 by Professor Felicity Riddy, and the next publication of the Society would be a CD-ROM of the Chepman and Myllar prints, published in partnership with the National Library of Scotland.

**3.** Changes to constitution: The change to the constitution agreed at the Council meeting on 15 September 2006 was endorsed by all those present at the AGM. The new clause 9 reads as follows:

Council may appoint an Editorial Committee to make recommendations to Council on the selection, editing and progress of works for publication by the Society. The Editorial Committee will be chaired by the President, and the Editorial Secretary will act as secretary to the Committee. Membership of the Committee will be by co-option, and may include non-Members of Council.

# 4. Annual Report and Accounts for 2006

These documents were received.

# 5. Treasurer and Membership Secretary's Report

These documents were received.

# 6. Re-election of Members of Council, for three years.

The following were re-elected to Council: As a Vice-President: Professor A.A. MacDonald As Editorial Secretary: Dr N. Royan

As Members of Council: Dr J. Hadley Williams Mr T. van Heijnsbergen Professor J. Smith

#### 7. Any other competent business

Dr Mackay informed the meeting of the 12<sup>th</sup> International Conference on Medieval and Renaissance Scottish Language and Literature to be held in Edinburgh between 30 June and 4 July 2008. She expressed the hope that, with the CD-ROM of the Chepman and Myllar prints being available, it would be possible to foreground the work of the Society during the conference. The AGM welcomed this idea and recommended that Council take it further.

#### 9. Date of next meeting

It was agreed that this would be set at the next Council meeting in September.